Spell Haste Stacking Guide – Part I

 

***THIS GUIDE IS A WORK IN PROGRESS***

As my guildies well know, I have been testing out Spell haste for Sunwell and despite my doubt I’ve found that thus far, it’s not half bad. My initial response to the Spell Haste stat was—negative. I’ve honestly never been a fan of it and always felt to gimp my +Healing, Spell Crit % and Mp5 in favor of Spell haste was completely ludicris. My initial intent of this guide was to help out the other Paladins in my guild however I felt that since Spell Haste stacking is relatively new to the game, it would be nice to write an actual guide for it. So, if you’re still interested in upping your HPS read on after the jump.

Well, along comes Sunwell and the need to heal insane amounts of damage on main tanks, moreso than ever before in fact. I’ve been doing my fair share of research and although I’ve yet to really dive into the realm of complete nerdism and start doing tons of mathematical formulas, no spreadsheets, just actual in-game testing — I’ve come to the conclusion that if you are going to gear for spell haste, you can’t half-ass it.
There is no middle ground with spell haste. You either stack it, or you don’t touch it.
 Gemming partially for spell haste is in my opinion, a huge waste of gem slots. In other words go “balls to the wall”!
IMPORTANT: THIS GUIDE ASSUMES YOU HAVE SPEC’D FOR LIGHT’S GRACE. IF YOU HAVE NOT, PLEASE RE-SPEC PROT OR RET.
I. STATS
For those of you wondering, “How much spell haste should I get?” and even more importantly, “How much of my other stats should I sacrifice to do so?”, I have (based on in-game, personal experience — not some theorycrafting bullshit) come up with some actual #’s that I’ve found to be a solid “target” for your stats.
SUGGESTED TARGET UNBUFFED STATS:
  • Spell Haste: 250-300 (16%-19%)
  • +Healing: 2100 or above. I would not feel comfortable dipping below this number.
  • Spell Crit: 25%. Again, I’d not go below this.
  • Mp5: 110 while casting or more. Although one would think Mp5 is highly important, seeing as though we should be getting at least a Shadow Priest for Mana Regen during boss fights in our groups, we can afford to sacrifice some Mp5. 
II. SOCKETING
One of the easiest ways to increase your spell haste is by stacking Quick Lionseye gems in most of your sockets. You should be taking into consideration that you will most likely have an Insightful Earthstorm Diamond Meta gem socketed in your helm, thus requiring 2 Blue and 2 Red gems to meet your Meta’s requirement. Luckily, you can meet your meta requirement by using 2 Royal Shadowsong Amethyst. This will require only 2 non-spell haste gems, allowing you to further stack your Quick Lionseyes.
NOTE: A Quick Lionseye is worth +10 Spell Haste or as stated earlier, 0.64% Spell Haste %. It is considered OK to forsake socket bonuses but please be mindful of what bonuses you are going to give up to socket with haste gems. For instance, as I noted above Mp5 should not be as much of a priority as it used to be pre-Sunwell. With that being said, take Lightbringer Leggings for example. Note the +Healing socket bonus opposed to the +mp5 socket bonus found in Lightbringer Belt. So, when deciding which items you will save for your Meta gem requirements, please take into consideration what bonuses you will be keeping or losing.
More to follow!

 

Leave a Reply

